Reading

Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz

I recently finished reading this book and I absolutely loved it! I will definitely be ordering the second book soon. I’m so glad I picked this up at the bookstore a few weeks ago – it has been an intriguing and thrilling read, and I guarantee you I will be reading Hurwitz’s books in the future!

‘Do you need my help?’
It was the first question he asked.
They called him when they had nowhere else to turn.

As a boy Evan Smoak was taken from an orphanage.
Raised and trained in a top secret programme, he was sent to bad places to do things the government denied ever happened.

Then he broke with the programme, using what he’d learned to vanish. Now he helps the desperate and deserving.

But someone’s on his trail.

Someone who knows his past and believes that the boy once known as Orphan X must die . . .

Goodreads

Standard
Reading

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

I just finished reading this and I absolutely love26127588d it! I could barely stop to catch a breath – I just simply had to keep reading, had to know the ending.

If you haven’t done so already, please check it out! Here’s a summary of the book:

Sisters. Strangers. Survivors.

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.

The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Powerful, poignant, and utterly gripping, packed with indelible characters and unforgettable twists, Pretty Girls is a masterful thriller from one of the finest suspense writers working today.

Goodreads

 

Standard
Reading

Someone Is Watching by Joy Fielding

Such a page turner! I was so gripped right from the start, I almost finished it in one reading. I hope you enjoy this thrilling suspense novel! It’s a must for fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag and Lisa Jackson.22694047

As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she’s unable to venture beyond her front door without panicking. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people’s lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome guy across the street—until she realizes that he is also watching her. Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.

Though crippled by fear, Bailey knows she can’t ignore her suspicions and risk leaving a predator at large. With the police making no headway in solving her case, she’s determined to overcome her terror and reclaim the power she lost by unmasking her attacker and taking him down herself. But it’s a harrowing battle that threatens to wreck Bailey’s credibility, compromise an investigation, and maybe even claim her sanity.

Summary from Goodreads

Standard